Brothers Jonathan and Mark du Toit in their TAR Chev Camaros

Historic Tour - 2016

Zwartkops Raceway hosts great day of Historic Car Racing

The 2016 Historic Tour visited the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday, providing spectators with a full day of spectacular nostalgia.

Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70)
Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70)

A variety of cars tackled the SKF Pre-1966/68 Le Mans Sports & GT races.

Running on special invitation, Dino Scribante took his Liqui Moly Tiga Honda to the head of the field both times, setting the day’s overall quickest lap time of 64,5 seconds in the process.

Behind him, the first race was officially won by Peter Jenkins (Nucleus Chevron B19), ahead of Roman de Beer (Genie Lola T70) and Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chevron B8).

Jonathan du Toit took the second victory from Roman de Beer and Peter Bailey (Porsche 917).

Brothers Jonathan and Mark du Toit in their TAR Chev Camaros
Brothers Jonathan and Mark du Toit in their TAR Chev Camaros

Thomas Falkiner (Ford Mustang) led the opening SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Car race until his car was beset with technical maladies, and he retired after four laps.

Brothers Jonathan and Mark du Toit, both in TAR Chev Camaros, then diced furiously for the lead, with the win going to Jonathan, one tenth of a second ahead of his brother.

On the second occasion Mark won ahead of Jonathan, by an equally small margin.

Driving the cumbersome car brilliantly, youngster Jeff Kruger took the TAR Studebaker Golden Hawke to both of the day’s third places.

Jacques Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT Junior) and Marc Miller (Alfa Romeo Giulia) shared victories in the Two-litre class.

Chad ten Doeschate (TAR GSM Dart)
Chad ten Doeschate (TAR GSM Dart)

Youngster Chad ten Doeschate (TAR GSM Dart) won both races for SKF Pre-1966/68 Little Giant cars, setting the category’s quickest lap time in the process.

On the first occasion he led home Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo P1800), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type) and Marco Taylor (Alfa Romeo Junior).

In race two Van Heerden, John McKerchar (Porsche RSK) and Andy Gossman (Datsun Sunny) took the runner-up places, respectively.

Rob Gearing (Birkin 7) and Jeffrey Kruger (Lotus 7) finished first and second in both of the day’s Sabat Lotus Challenge races.

Anton Muller (Birkin 7) and Jeff Gable (Birkin 7) took the respective final podium places.

Dave Leyshon (VW Scirocco) won the opening Handicap Series race from Hubi von Moltke (Mercedes-Benz 280E) and Stan Stacey (Alfa Romeo GTV).

Danny Kloes (Alfa Romeo GTV) took the second victory, ahead of Stuart Grant (Mercedes-Benz 280E) and Von Moltke.

Veteran Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) won the first Investchem Formula Ford Kent race from Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals Royale) and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Ray).

Horne won the second time around, leading home Andy Schofield (Investchem Reynard) and Jeff Gable (Van Diemen).

Anton Raaths (Exclusive Auto Chev Camaro) won the first race for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-1979 Saloon Car races, leading home Neil Reynecke (Exclusive Auto Chev Can-Am) and George Avvakoumides (Ocean Basket Porsche 911 RSR).

Avvakoumides won the second time, followed by Reynecke and Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco).

The next round of the 2016 Historic Series will take place at Dezzi Raceway in KwZulu Natal on Saturday, June 4.

Story courtesy of Andre De Kock – The Citizen.

Pictures courtesy of

Print Friendly, PDF & Email