High speed nostalgia returns to Zwartkops Raceway

Historic Tour - 2016

High speed nostalgia will return to its traditional home this weekend, when the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria will host round two of this year’s Historic Car Racing series.

The event will cater for seven competition disciplines, each to tackle two races during the day.


Top billing on the programme will belong to races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Production Cars, divided into two separate classes.

Heading up the entry list will be drivers like Thomas Falkiner (Sunday Times Ford Mustang), Hennie Groenewald (Plymouth Comet), Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chev Camaro) and Mark du Toit (TAR Chev Camaro).

The Two-Litre class will boast entries like Ben van der Westhuizen (Lotus Cortina), Andy Gossman (Datsun Sunny), Larry Davies (Alfa Romeo Giulia), Trevor Tuck (Pharmashop Alfa Giulia), Carel Pienaar (Lotus Cortina), Patrick Gearing (123 Ignition Alfa Giulia), Marc Miller (Alfa Giulia Super) and Shane Baartman (Alfa Junior GT).


The races for SKF Pre-1966/68 Le Mans Sports and GT/International Sports Prototypes Cars will have a varied entry, led by Colin Ellison (Chevron B19), Colin Clay (Porsche 917), Roman de Beer (Lola T70), Neil Lobb (Lola T70), Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder), Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), Oliver Dalais (Ford GT40), Peter Bailey (Porsche 917). Behind them, there should be spirited performances from drivers like Dennis MCBeath (Mpiti Renault), Warren Lombard (Cobra), Chad ten Doeschate (VPW Spyder) and Franco Resta (MGB GT).

A mixed bag of cars will tackle the races for SKF Pre-1966/68 Little Giants. Front runners should include Ishmael Baloyi (TAR GSM Dart), Josh Dovey (Austin Healy Sprite), Chad ten Doeschate (GSM Dart), Yorick Smith (MGA), Les McCleod (Mr Clean MGB), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type) and Peter Collings (Mini Cooper S). Others to watch will be Mel Spurr (Ford Consul 315), Charles Montandon (Ford Corsair), Martin van der Merwe (MGBGT) and Dennis McBeath (Renualt).

Ian Scholfield (Ivestchem Mygale) will be a top contender in the Investchem Formula Kent races, challenged by people like Alex Vos (Equrie Zoo Swift), Allen Meyer (Van Diemen), Jeff Gable (Taylon Van Diemen), Rex Tweedie (Ecurie Zoo Swift) and James Reeves (Ray 82).


Willie Hepburn (Amtech Opel Rekord V8) must be the man to beat in the races for Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-1984 Saloons. The category, which will boast the day’s largest field, will include competitors like Peter Lindenberg (Ford Fairlane), Dino Scribante (Liqui Moly Tiga), Barry Nel (Datsun 1600), Don Bruins (Mazda 323), Johan Prins (Datsun 160Y), Neil Lobb (Fiat 131), Jan Jacobs (Alfa Romeo GT), Mike O’Sullivan (BMW 2002), Paige Lindenberg (Ford Escort), Harry Lombard (PSA VW Beetle) and George Avvakoumides Ocen Basket Porsche 911).

Youngsters Jeffrey Kruger (Lotus 7) and Rob Gearing (Birkin 7) should resume their fight for supremacy in the Sabat Lotus Challenge category. Others looking to stand on podiums should include Connor Jones (SV Tech Lotus 7), Johan Nel (Nelize Birkin 7), James Forbs (Piero Dal Bianco Birkin 7), Jeff Gable (Taylon Birkin 7) and Anton Guse (Birkin 7).

The Historic Handicap races should provide close competition between drivers like Les McLeod (Mr Clean MGB), Stelios Christoff (Aloe Valley Alfa Romeo GT), Hubi van Moltke (Mercedes-Benz 280 CE), Johan Swanepoel (Fiat 124 Sport), Neil Fowlis Datsun 280 ZX) and Stuart Grant (Carcol Mercedes-Benz 190E).

Racing will start at 10am, with qualifying sessions for all categories earlier in the morning. The racing apart, there will be live music, food stalls and kiddies entertainment. Food and drink will be on sale or you may take your own.

Admission will cost R80 per adult and R60 per student, with kids under the age of 12 going in for free.

See you at Zwartkops on 9 April 2016!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email