Historic Tour finale a thriller

Historic Tour VIIIThe 2018 Historic Tour ended on a high note at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday (November 3), with a fully subscribed competitor contingent keeping spectators happy throughout a packed programme.

Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang)
Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang)

Topping events were two races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars, with four visiting Netherlands drivers adding spice to the mix.

Local youngster Jeffrey Kruger (Plymouth Barracuda) won the first race from Jonathan du Toit (Chev Nova) and Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang).

After a brilliant second race, Lindenberg won from Du Toit and Kruger.

The Under Two-litre category went to Patrick Gearing (Alfa Romeo Giulia), ahead of Rob Gearing (BMW 200 Ti) and Wouter Roos (Alfa Giulia).

Vic Campher (Volvo 122S) won race two from Patrick Gearing and Rob Gearing.

Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type) took the Little Giants category, leading home Terrance Khalo (GSM Dart) and Ishmael Baloyi (GSM Dart).

Baloyi took race two, ahead of Stephen Britz (MGB) and Andre’ de Kock (GSM Dart).

Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B9)
Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B9)

Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B9) won the opening race for Pre-1968 Sports Cars, ahead of Ricard Schuhardt (Porsche RSR) and Warren Lombard (Cobra Ford).

Schuhardt experienced problems in race two, which left Du Toit to win again, followed by Peter Jenkins (Porsche RSR) and Wynand van der Merwe (Porsche RSR).

Both races for Pre-1980 Historic Saloons went to Colin Ellison (Ford Thunderbolt), with Gerhard Henning (VW Scirocco) and Phillip Pantasis (Datsun 240Z) swapping the respective second and third places.

The opening Lotus Challenge race went to Jeffrey Kruger (Lotus 7), followed by Jason Campos (Lotus) and Robyn Kruger (Lotus 7).

Campos won round two, ahead of Jeffrey Kruger and Robyn Kruger.

Willie Hepburn (Opel Rekord V8)
Willie Hepburn (Opel Rekord V8)

Michael Jensen took his Shelby CanAm to the opening National Sports Car race victory, leading home Ian Smith (Shelby CanAm) and Fritz Kleynhans (Ligier 2015).

Jensen fell off the road in race two, leaving Smith to win from Kleynhans and Anton Muller (Birkin 7).

Willie Hepburn (Opel Rekord V8) and Keagan Pottas (Honda Turbo) took turns to win the Motul Super Saloon Car races, with George Economides (VW Golf Turbo) third both times.

Travis Jensen (Datsun 1200GX) won the first race for Midvaal Historics cars, with Gavin Lundin (Datsun 1200GX) and Alistair Johnston (Datsun GX Coupe) filling out the podium.

Race two, from an inverted grid, went to Werner Vonk (Ford Escort), followed by Mario Rossi (Alfa GTV) and Lundin.

Andrew Horne (Van Diemen)
Andrew Horne (Van Diemen)

Gerard Geldenhuys (Mygale) took the first Formula Monoposto heat from Andrew Horne (Van Diemen) and Jonathan Nash (Swift).

Horne won the next time around, ahead of Nash and Dean Venter (Swift Kent).

Willie Erasmus won the opening INEX Legends race, closely followed by Sean Moore and Gerard Roux.

Jason Loosemore won race two from Erasmus and Richard van Heerde.

Loosemore won race three as well, followed by Erasmus and Justin Robertson.

Danny Kloes (Alfa Romeo GTV)
Danny Kloes (Alfa Romeo GTV)

Rob van Aarle (Ford Escort 1300) took the first Charlies Super-Spar Pursuit handicap race, finishing ahead of Kobus Brits (Porsche 911) and Danny Kloes (Alfa Romeo GTV).

Danny Kloes took race two, beating Brits and de Klerk to the flag.

The next event at Zwartkops will be the final Regional round of the 2018 Extreme Festival next Saturday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email