Legends Newsletter 5 - 2016

Legends of the 9 Hour

Zwartkops – 9th April – Historic Tour


In only its third outing, the Vic Campher Volvo P1800 was the star performer at Zwartkops on the 9th of April. The beautiful P1800 Volvo achieved two pole positions and an overall win on the day, winning the Star of LEGENDS trophy. This was achieved in an extremely competitive Pre’1966/68 9 Hour Legends LITTLE Giants category.

Mixed with a wide variety of Sports & GT and Production Cars.


On the day all the Legends categories produced 54 entries divided into three groups. The LITTLE Giants produced the biggest field with a competitive field. From the top of the field right through to Mel Spurr in the yellow Peril Consul Capri. Right from the drop of the flag it was Vic in the blue Volvo P1800 who went for the lead, however the lighter Dart of Chad Ten Doeschate soon made up his practice penalty to take the lead. Keith van Heerden (DType Jaguar) tried to chase the leading two down but failed by just 0.01 of a second. Francesco Lombardi, after starting second, was the biggest disappointment on the day after he retired after four laps so the Alfa honours went to Marco Taylor in the GT. Gavin Holt’s MGA is getting quicker all the time and won Class F in the Sports Car category. Heat two saw a repeat of the start of the first heat with a Campher Volvo leading, but the Sports Cars had other ideas and one by one passed the Volvo however, the end result was that the Volvo won. The Dart, D-Type Jaguar and John McKercher’s Porsche 718 were all penalised for breaking out. The little Datsun of Andy Gossman also managed a penalty. The multiple breakouts of five cars on the day will be assessed by the technical committee. In defence to the breakouts the day was a perfect day for racing – low temperature and little wind – “the June syndrome” which can make a 0.75 to 1 second difference.

Overall winner Vic Campher Volvo P1800 with Chad Ten Doeschate Sports Cars, Ishmael Baloyi GSM Dart Class F, Martin vd Merwe MGB GT, Dennis McBeath – a fine drive in Ken Hall’s Renault R8, Ed Botes (after a spin) in the Mini Cooper all class winners.


Pre’1966/68 Le Mans Sports & GT Plus Pre’1974 ISP

In difficult economic circumstances, plus cars still in a state of repairs after the International we still had a grid of 14 cars. A special invitation to Dino Scribante with his Tiga – his GT40 still not repaired.

Pole in ISP was Peter Jenkins followed closely by Roman de Beer in the Genie Lola T70 then Jonathan du Toit’s Chevron B8 all within 0.2 of a second. Mark du Toit headed the Pre’1966 with his Lola, the Porsche 917 of Peter Bailey and Oliver Dalais in the blue Ford GT40. Mark Lauth’s Lola is now sorted and recorded a time of 1.09 followed by Jeff Kruger in the black Chevron B8. Neil Lobb’s Gunston Lola was a little off-pace in practice. One of the most impressive cars on the grid is Alan Garrow’s Pre’1964 Cobra. It is immaculate, competitive and captures the spirit of the early sixties being driven to and from the race meetings. Multiple champion Dennis McBeath’s Mpiti headed the GSM Dart (White) of Chad and Ben vd Westhuizen’s Maurauder.

Peter Jenkins won race one with Roman de Beer close behind the red B8 of Jonathan. Mark, Peter, Oliver, Neil Lobb were all close until Neil spun the orange Lola going into turn 4. Alan Garrow managed to outwit the Mpiti of Dennis McBeath. The most unfortunate man of the meeting was Colin Ellison who’s Chevron B19 experienced engine maladies on the first lap.

There are few events in the world where we can see four Lola T70, three Chevrons, GT40, Porsche 917, and a FIA Cobra 289 all in one race. This was the action of heat two. The racers pushed hard with sight and sound of the glorious sixties and early seventies. Peter Jenkins flew off the line only to expire before the end of the lap which appeared to be a blown engine. This left the door open to Jonathan to take on the big green Lola of Roman. Then Roman went wide so ISP honours fell into the hands of the little red Chevron. Peter Bailey won ISP (B) in the 917 with the Gunston Lola close behind. Mark’s Lola tried to fight off the ISP cars but they got the better of him. So overall went to Jonathan, Class B Peter Bailey, Mark Lauth Lola T70 Class C and Alan Garrow won Class D – a great race!


SKF Pre’1966 Production Cars and U2

After a number of withdrawals shrunk the Champion of Champions Class. This was unfortunate which left us with only three COC cars on the line – Mark and Jonathan Camaro’s and Thomas Falkiner Ford Mustang.

For three laps Thomas headed the Camaros then an engine problem which put an end to his days racing. It was then left to the du Toit boys to repeat their days of Formula Ford when they fought tooth and nail – took no prisoners. In the end Mark just pipped Jonathan. The surprise of the day was young Jeff Kruger in the Golden Hawk who brought this troublesome car home, third overall and top of the ZA times. Makes you think!

The feature of the Pre’1966 Series is the fastest growing class of the under 2 litre saloons. Which now makes up the biggest proportion of the field. There were eleven cars (14 entries) the first heat was won by Marc Miller (Guilia) from Jacques Baartman (Alfa GT) and John Simpson (Alfa GT), Colin Ritchie’s Mini Cooper excelled but was unfortunately penalised for time infringements. In heat two it was Roger Houston who had his first win in U2. The win also gave him overall honours for the day, followed by John Simpson who managed to get the yellow Alfa GT to work. Marc Miller came third overall.

Mini, Alfa’s, Guilia, GT, Guiletta, Lotus Cortina, BMW, Volvo – expect great things from U2 given some UK entries in 2017.


Peter du Toit
Chairman – Legends of the 9 Hour Racing Series

Legends of the 9 Hour

1958 / 1974 The Great Years of South African Motor Racing.

Pre-1966 Legends of the 9 Hour Production Cars
Pre-1966/68 Le Mans Sports & GT
Pre-1974 International Sports Prototypes
Pre-1966/68 Little Giants Production Sports & GT Cars
Pre-1966 under 2 litre Production Cars
Pre-1971 Campion of Champions Production Cars

Print Friendly, PDF & Email