DEOD SuperGP Champions Trophy

The SuperGP Champions Trophy riders return to the track on Sunday, 1 May when the third round of the 2016 championship takes place at Zwartkops Raceway.

There have been a number of twists in the premier SuperGP class where defending champion Clint Seller (NeoLife Africa Yamaha R1) walked away from the first round without a point on the board after a crash in the first race. While he was unhurt the same cannot be said for his bike and his team were unable to get it back on track for the day’s second race.


In his absence Mathew Scholtz (ETR Yamaha R1) took two comfortable race wins and the championship lead but things didn’t run as smoothly at Phakisa. He crashed out of the second race costing him valuable points.

Scholtz still leads the championship with Michael White, who has been a model of consistency on the Consortium Shipping Yamaha R1, not far behind. After two podium finishes last time out veteran Lance Isaacs (LIR BMW S1000RR) lies third on the log. Seller put the disappointment of Red Star behind him at Phakisa, taking both race victories and moving into fourth on the championship log. Anthony Shelley, who was tragically killed in a road accident a couple of weeks ago, is still in fifth place tied with Daryn Upton (Turnskill Engineering BMW S1000RR).

Isaacs’ good results have given him a substantial lead in the SuperMasters Interprovincial Challenge from team mate Justin Gillesen. Damion Purificati (Kawasaki) is just 5 points behind Gillesen.


In the Super600 class it has been all about Steven Odendaal (Petra Yamaha R6) and Adolf Boshoff (NeoLife Africa Yamaha R6). With two wins and two second places each they are tied at the top of the championship log. Blaze Baker (Uncle Andy Suzuki GSXR 600) has finished third in all four races this season and will be looking to bridge the gap to the leading duo.

Nicole van Aswegen (Women in Motorsport Triumph 675) has shown serious pace this season and has been rewarded with results that have given her fourth spot on the championship log ahead of Byron Bester (Hi-Tech Elements Kawasaki ZX6) and Alex van den Berg (Kawasaki ZX6).

Despite poor results after popping his motor at Phakisa, Brandon Staffen still has a slender lead in the SuperJunior championship. He will have to be at the top of his game at Zwartkops to keep that lead intact. Aidan Liebenberg, who did not compete in the opening round, took two comfortable wins at Phakisa and will be looking for another full-house of points. Camron Hackart, Tyreece Robert and Dominic Doyle have all scored podium finished this season and will be aiming to move up to the top step at Zwartkops.

In addition to the national and interprovincial classes there will be a full program of Northern Regions racing including BOTTS, Ladies Cup, Breakfast Run and Formula Xtreme. The 250 Cup and KTM 390Seniors will also be in action.

For this event the practice sessions and qualifying will take place on Saturday, 30 April with a full day of racing getting under way at 09h00 on Sunday, 1 May.

Admission will cost R80 per adult and R60 per student, with kids under the age of 12 going in for free.

For more information on the series visit their website at

See you at Zwartkops on 1 May 2016!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email