Inland Championship at Zwartkops on 16 July 2016 - Preview
Inland Championship

The fifth round of the Inland Championship Roadshow will head to the popular Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday 16 July for another action packed event. The event marks the halfway point of the season with the various categories starting to reveal a number of championship favourites.

Inland Championship at Zwartkops on 16 July 2016 - Preview

The Big Boss Auto Super Saloon category with the big V8 GTA class is always a crowd favourite. Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang) and Franco Di Matteo (Jaguar) will once again represent the old guard against the bevy of new generation youngsters who have entered the fray. Mackie Adlem (Jaguar) and Steve Herbst (Chev Corvette) are more than capable of challenging for a victory, with Devin Robertson (Chev Corvette) and Amos Cockerham Junior (Chev Corvette) able to cause their fair share of upsets as well. Willie Hepburn (Opel Rekord) is expected to dominate the GT2 class with Jody Vianna (Mazda RX8) leading the charge in GT3. Adrian Dalton (VW Golf) should be a front runner in GT4 while Jimmy Tsimenglou (BMW M3) will once again challenge for the GT5 honours.

Inland Championship at Zwartkops on 16 July 2016 - Preview

The INEX Legends Championship is expected to produce its usual blend of close and competitive wheel to wheel racing. Divan Myburgh has taken an early lead in the Pro class with Shaun Nel and Seef Fourie not too far behind him either. School girl Lonika Maartens currently leads the Semi Pro class with Anro Stadler and Shjaell Nel trying hard to stay in touch with her.

Justin Robertson continues to set the pace in the Masters category but Anton Repsold has closed the gap on him after the last few events. Steve Nel has also made great strides on gaining on the leading Masters pair. Clinton Bezuidenhout leads the Young Lions class by a healthy margin with teenager Altan Bouw making good progress as well.

The Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series has consistently brought with it the biggest fields in the Inland Championship. With more than thirty entries expected for this event the racing is expected to be closer than ever. Julian Fameliaris (E36 328i Turbo) has set the early pace in class A this season, but can expect some tough opposition from Manny Ribeiro (E36 M3) once again. The addition of Giannoccaro brothers Gianni (E82 1M T) and Ricky (E46 M3 GTR), as well as Carlo Garbini (E46 328i Turbo) and Desmond Bloem (E36 M3 Turbo) should set the proverbial cat amongst the pigeons. Class B has seen a number of drivers challenge for the lead this season with Stefano Martinelli (E36 328i Turbo), Rick Loureiro (E30 3.2 CSL) and Riaan Woest (E46 M3 GTR) all challenging for the win.

Class C has turned into the brat pack this season with the most entries of any class, leading to some close and competitive racing at every event. Mish-al Sing (E30 325is) will no doubt be fighting for top honours against Lorenzo Gaultieri (E36 328i) and Jorge Estrela (E36 328i Turbo). Class D has changed somewhat with a number of drivers moving up to class C after breaking out of the allocated class times. This will see a number of new faces come to the fore with Bevan Meyer (E36 325i), Troy Cochran (E46 325ti) and Neil Reynolds (E39 M5) likely front runners.

Inland Championship at Zwartkops on 16 July 2016 - Preview

The Yokohama Modified Production Cars have seen some close action this season with front runners Jeff Langeveldt (Honda CRX) and Dirk Lawrence (Honda Ballade) leading the charge for class A honours. George Economides (VW Golf) will be making a welcome return to the series heading the class T challenge. Adrian Dalton (VW Golf) will no doubt be the top contender in Class B while Kalyn Miller (Ford Icon) will be looking to upstage the men in the Class C field as well. The SRA class should see the likes of Fritz Kleynhans (Shelby) and Mario Nardini (Nardini SP308) fighting for class honours.

The Midvaal Historics and Trofeo Challenge categories will be hoping to regroup with another healthy field of entries. Shawn Smidt (Datsun 160Y) and Brendan Parker (Datsun GX Coupe) are two of the leading contenders in the category with a number of other regulars all in with a chance of a podium position. Trofeo Challengers Shane Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT Junior) and John Hendriks (Alfa Sud) could also pose a threat however. With no less than a dozen other drivers in the field this Historic racing series adds its own unique flavour to the Inland Championship.

Single seater fans can look forward to the Formula Monoposto series which has a wide variety of open wheel race cars competing. Consisting of the Formula Libre and Formula M classes, the category should once again provide for some exciting single seater racing.

Other categories that can be seen on the day will be Silvercup and two wheel fans can look forward to a guest appearance by the Sub10 Superbikes and Silverton Bolt & Nut Challenge motorcycle categories.

Tickets are R80 for adults, R60 for students while kids under 12 get in for free.

For live updates on race days follow the series on Facebook:

For any enquiries, photographs or media reports on the Inland Championship feel free to contact Paul Blackburn on 082 900 6443 or

Print Friendly, PDF & Email