Historic car racing returns to Zwartkops Raceway - 29 September 2018

Historic Tour VIIISouth African historic car racing will return to its natural home this Saturday (September 29), when the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria will host a varied 20-race programme.

Topping events will be two combined races for Pre-1974 Sports and Pre-1966 Le Mans Sports and GT Cars.

Larry Wilford (Lola T70)
Larry Wilford (Lola T70)

Chasing overall podiums should be drivers like Larry Wilford (Lola T70), Rui Campos (Lola T70 Spyder), Warren Lombard (Cobra V8 Mk111), Chad ten Doeschate (Shelby Cobra), Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B29), Peter Bailey (Porsche 917), Mark du Toit (TAR Ford Daytona), Peter Jenkins (Nucleus Supply Chevron B29) and Peter Lanz (Lola T70).

Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang) should be the man to bet in the tin-top category, chased by drivers like Thomas Falkiner (Ford Mustang), Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang), Jeffrey Kruger (Chevelle), Richard Shubart (Porsche 911), Wynand van der Merwe (Porsche RSR) and Andre’ van der Merwe (Evapco Porsche 934).

Some of the day’s best spectacle should be provided by the SKF Pre-1966 Under Two-Litre cars.

Pre-event favourites must include Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo 122S), Trevor Tuck (Alfa Romeo Giulia), Alan Poulter (Tom Campher Volvo 122S), Carel Pienaar (Lotus Cortina), Patrick Gearing (Alfa Romeo Giulia Ti), Roger Houston Alfa Giulia Ti), Stuart Grant (Mini Cooper S), Chad ten Doeschate (Alfa Romeo Junior), Jonathan du Toit (TAR BMW 2002), Francesco Lombardi (Alfa Romeo Sprint) and Mark du Toit (TAR Alfa GT).

Trevor Tuck (Alfa Romeo Giulia) and Alan Poulter (Tom Campher Volvo 122S)
Trevor Tuck (Alfa Romeo Giulia) and Alan Poulter (Tom Campher Volvo 122S)

Racing behind them, the Pre-1966 Little Giants should see front runners like Ishmael Baloyi (TAR GSM Dart Alfa), Mark van Rooyen (Bay Drive Sunbeam Alpine), Ben van der Westhuizen (Marauder), Stephen Britz (CTR MGB), Josh Dovey (Austin Healy Sprite), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type), Christopher Carlisle-Kitz (Twiga Anglia) and Mel Spurr (Consul 315) fighting for the front places.

The Pre-1980 Historic Saloon Car races will see a total of 38 contenders, with front-runners people like Johann Smith (Rotrix Mazda Capella Rotary), Colin Ellison (Ford Fairlane), Frank Davis Rayspeed Ford Escort Mk1), Paige Lindenberg (Ford Fairlane), Gerhard Henning (VW Scirocco), Mario Rossi (Alfa GTV6), Travis Jensen (Datsun 1200GX), Neil Lobb (Fiat 131) and Mike O’Sullivan (Chev SS).

Some of the day’s quickest lap times should come from the Historic Single Seater brigade, with top contenders being Colin Ellison (Ralt RT4), Peter Kernick (Maurer MM82), Neil Lobb (Chevron B29), Brian Algar (March 78B), Des Hillary (Dulon), Paul Manegold (Tiga FF), Graham Vos (Van Diemen) and Alan Grant (Lotus FF).

Dean Venter (Swift) should be the man to bet in the races for Formula Ford Kent cars, chased by the likes of Alex Vos (Swift), Graham Hepburn (Van Diemen), David Jermy (Van Diemen), Andrew Horne (Van Diemen), Jonathan Nash (Swift) and Paul Gerber (Ray).

Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Lotus Seven) must be the Sabat Lotus Challenge victory favourite, challenged by people like Thomas Falkiner (Taylon Seven), Clive Wilmot (Birkin Seven), Robyn Kruger (Lotus Seven), Sean Hewitt (Birkin 53), Richard Beningfield (Caterham Seven), Len Marshall (Lotus Birkin) and John Oliver (Birkin Lotus).

Adding spice to proceedings will be three races for INEX Legend cars, with front racers people like Justin Robertson, Richard Upton, Jason Loosemore, Gerhard and Charl Roux, Richard van Heerde, Ian Upton and Johann van der Venter.

The Charlies Superspar Pursuit races will offer the day’s only handicap racing, with the results basically impossible to predict.

Possible front runners should be Wynand du Plessis (Porsche 944), Rob van Aarle (Ford Escort), Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes 190E), Danny Kloes (Alfa GTV 2000), Henk de Klerk (Honda Civic), Rob Clark Citroen GS1220 Club, Mike Thompson (Ford Capri GT) and Johan Swanepoel (Fiat 124 Sport).

Ending the day will be a 45-minute Endurance race, with top contender Wynand van der Merwe (Porsche RSR), Richard Schubart (Porsche RSR), Thomas Falkiner (Taylon 7), Byron Oliver (Birkin Lotus), Carel Schaap (Birkin S3), and Mario Rossi (Alfa GTV6).

The Zwartkops gates will be open from 6am, with qualifying sessions for all the categories in the early morning.

Racing apart, there will be a flea market and kiddie’s corner, with food and drink on sale.

Racing proper will commence at 9.45am, with the Endurance race scheduled to start just after 5pm.

Admission will cost R100 per adult and R80 per students, with kids under the age of 12 going in for free.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email