Extreme FestivalThe 2017 Extreme Festival brought a motorsport extravaganza to the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Friday and Saturday, entertaining large crowds on both days with a large variety of high speed spectacle.

Johan Fourie - Sasol Global Touring Cars
Johan Fourie – Sasol Global Touring Cars

Friday’s top billing belonged to the Sasol Global Touring Car brigade, with 16 competitors taking to the tarmac.

The opening race went to Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW), leading home Michael Stephen (Engen Xtreme Audi), Mathew Hodges (Volkswagen Jetta), Robert Wolk (Sasol BMW), Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi) and Daniel Rowe (Volkswagen Jetta).

Race two, started from an inverted grid, was red-flagged after two laps when Wolk’s BMW was punted into a gravel trap.

After the restart, other people like Michael van Rooyen (RSC BMW) and Rowe also went farming, luckily without incurring another race stop.

Eventually, Steven won ahead of Johan Fourie (EPS Couriers BMW), Bonafede, Hodges, Moss and Rowe. 

Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo Mini JCW) and Christopher Shorter (Champion Mini JCW) dominated the first GTC2 race, ahead of Keagan Masters (Volkswagen Golf GTI), Charl Smalberger (Indy Oil Golf GTI), Trevor Bland (TB Golf GTI) and Mandla Mdakane (Volkswagen Golf GTI).

Masters took the next victory, leading home Liebenberg, Shorter, Mdakane, Smalberger and Bland.

G&H Transport Extreme Supercars
G&H Transport Extreme Supercars

Crowning Saturday’s events were two races for G&H Transport Extreme Supercars.

Dawie Joubert (Lotus Exige Honda) led the opening heat, but was sidelined by a broken rose joint five laps from the end.

On the final lap Craig Jarvis (Stradale Ferrari 458) and Simon Murray (Lamborghini Gallardo) clashed at the top of the hill and spun into the sand trap.

That left Charl Arangies to win in his Stradale Ferrari 458, finishing ahead of Franco Scribante (Porsche 997 Turbo), Jonathan du Toit (TAR Ferrari 430) and Dawie Olivier (G&H Transport BMW M3).  

Race two saw the Jarvis Ferrari break a rear wheel rim and slide into a tyre wall at high speed.

Dawie Joubert then won the race in his repaired Lotus, chased to the end by Arangies, Olivier and Scribante.

Championship leader Devin Robertson (Payen Polo) won both the Engen Volkswagen Cup races, narrowly ahead of Tasmin Pepper (Campos Polo).

Shaun La Reservee (Alpine Motors Polo) and Juan Gerber (Glasfit Polo) took turns in the respective third spots.

Julian van der Watt (Investchem Mygale) took both the Investchem Formula Ford victories.

On the first occasion he led home  Stuart White (Fantastic FF) and Brad Beningfield  (General Energy Mygale), while Cameron O’Connor (Strata FF) and Liam Pienaar (Phoenix Mygale) filled out the podium the next time around.

Veteran Iain Pepper (Husqvarna Polo) took the first VW Challenge race from Devon Piazza-Musso (Reef Supplies Polo) and Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo).

Stiaan Kriel (Spanjaard Polo) won race two from Pepper and Masters.

Gerhard Henning (VW Polo) won the first race for 111 Saloon Cars, leading home Harry Arangies (Stradale Porsche 944). 

Marius Jackson (Mega Fibre Audi TT) and Louis Cloete (www.apconline.co.za Beetle) took turns in the respective third places.

Bridgestone Thunderbikes
Bridgestone Thunderbikes

Jonathan du Toit (Honda Civic) and Brett Garland (autObarn Honda) swapped the respective autObarn Superhatch race victories, followed both times by Chris Davison (PRT Opel Superboss).

Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema) and Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Rhema) took turns to win the Hankook Formula Vee races, with Lushen Ramchander (Miami Forza) third on both occasions.

Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8) won both the SKF Legend events, followed by Mark du Toit (Lola T70) and Peter Bailey (Porsche 917).

The first SKF Under Two-Litre Legends race went to Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo 122S), followed by Jacques Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT Junior) and Francesco Lombardi (Alfa Romeo Giulia). Hennie Groenewald (Alfa GT) won the next time out, followed over the finish line by Alan Poulter (Tom Campher Volvo 122S) and Campher.

James Forbes (ADR MCE3) won the first National Sports car race, chased both times by Michael Jensen (Fantastic Shelby).

Stuart White (Fantastic Shelby) and Mark Lauth (Fantastic Shelby) took turns on the final podium step.

Shaun Vermaak (Fourways Kawasaki) took the opening Bridgestone Thunderbike race from Gavin Upton (Motion Perfection Yamaha) and Chris du Plessis (Yamaha).

Upton won the next time around, followed by Vermaak and Morne Potgieter (Fourways Flyers Kawasaki).

The first Bridgestone Challenge race went to Carlos Antonio Tavares (Frost Biketech Kawasaki), chased to the flag by Conrad Clark (Idube Projects Kawasaki) and Nicholas Gertenbach (Westside Honda CBR).

Johan Nortje (Fourways Flyers Kawasaki) took victory number two from Clark and Nickolas Gertenbach (Westside Honda CBR).

The next round of the 2017 Extreme Festival will be held at the Eastern Cape Aldo Scribante circuit on Saturday, July 15.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email