SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars

Legends of the 9 HourThis year’s South African Historic Car racing season ended on a high note at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday.

Heading up proceedings were two races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars, with a variety of vehicles on the startline.

The opening heat produced a huge four-car, 32-cylinder dice at the front end.

Victory eventually went to Mark du Toit (TAR Ford Mercury Comet), ahead of Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chev Nova), Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang) and Lee Thompson (Ford Galaxie).

Morgenrood got the jump on the rest the next time out, winning from Jonathan du Toit, Mark du Toit and Thompson.

SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars
SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars

Carel Pienaar (Lotus Cortina) took the first Under Two-Litre victory from Vic Campher (Tom Campher Volvo 122S) and Francesco Lombardi (Alfa Sprint GT).

Pienaar’s car suffered mechanical maladies late in race two, leaving Lombardi to win from Marc Miller (BMW 2002ti) and Campher.

Vic Campher - U2 Legends
Vic Campher – U2 Legends

Ishmael Baloyi (GSM Dart Alfa) won both the SKF Pre-1966 LITTLE Giants races, with Riaan Lubbe (Alfa GT Junior) and Chad Ten Doeschate (Alfa Spyder) swapping the second and third places, respectively.

SKF Pre-1966 LITTLE Giants
SKF Pre-1966 LITTLE Giants

Tin-top veteran Eugene Gouws (Master Mowers Chev CanAm) took the first Roofsure Midvaal Historics victory from Deon van Vuuren (Hoosier Mazda R100 Rotary) and Bjorn Gebert (FAS Alfa GTV6).

Race two, started from an inverted grid, went to Gebert, leading home Gouws and Andre’ de Lange (Opel Kadett).

Eugene Gouws - Roofsure Midvaal Historics
Eugene Gouws – Roofsure Midvaal Historics

Both the Pre-1980 Historic Saloon Car races went to old-timer Willie Hepburn (Opel Rekord V8), followed on the first occasion by Rudolf de Vos (Chev CanAm) and Jannie van Rooyen (Volkswagen Scirocco).

De Vos dropped out of the second race, which left Van Rooyen and Stuart Konig to fill the final podium places in their VW Sciroccos.

Willie Hepburn - Pre-1980 Historic Saloons
Willie Hepburn – Pre-1980 Historic Saloons

The first Pre-1974 International Sports Prototype race went to Rob Beaumont (Porsche 917) leading home Richard de Roos (Porsche RSR) and Chad Ten Doeschate (Ford Cobra).

Beaumont won race two as well, this time ahead of Rudolf de Vos in his Chev CanAm and De Roos.

JRC Beaumont - Pre-1974 International Sports Prototype
JRC Beaumont – Pre-1974 International Sports Prototype

The opening Lotus Challenge race went to Mackie Adlem (Adlem Auto Birkin), leading home Robyn Kriel (Universal Health Birkin) and Sean Hewitt (Birkin).

Reigning champion Jeffrey Kruger, who retired from race one, returned to win race two from Adlem and Rudi Barnard (Barney’s Birkin).

Mackie Adlem - Lotus Challenge
Mackie Adlem – Lotus Challenge

Steve Venter (Swift) won both Historic Single Seater races from Ben van der Westhuizen (Royale) and Patrick Dunseth (Merlyn).

Rounding out the programme were two Charlies Superspar Pursuit handicap races.

The first went to Gary Stacey (Ford Cortina GT) followed by John Simpson (Alfa GT Junior) and Machiel Oberholzer (Mercedes 190e).

Stan Stacey (Cortina XR6 Interceptor) won the next time, ahead of Willem van Niekerk (Marauder) and Wernher Hartzenberg (Porsche 928).

Wernher Hartzenberg - Charlies SuperSpar Pursuit Series
Wernher Hartzenberg – Charlies SuperSpar Pursuit Series

The next event at the Zwartkops Raceway will be the final round of the 2020 Extreme Festival series on Saturday, 7 November.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email