Zwartkops Raceway

Sasol Raceday entertains large Zwartkops crowd – 12 August 2017

Great weather, a large crowd and brilliant on-track action typified the Sasol Race Day, round nine of the 2017 Extreme Festival, at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday (August 12).

After winning both of Saturday’s Zwartkops races, Michael Stephen leads the 2017 Sasol Global Touring Car title chase in his Engen Xtreme Audi

Heading up the show were two races for Sasol Global Touring Cars.

Defending champion Michael Stephen (Engen Xtreme Audi) won the opening heat from Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi) and Mathew Hodges (VW Motorsport Jetta).

Rounding out the top six were Johan Fourie (EPS Couriers BMW), Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW) and Michael van Rooyen (RSC BMW).

Casualties included Daniel Rowe (VW Motorsport Jetta) and Robert Wolk, (Sasol BMW) after they made contact early in the race, and stopped later due to the damage caused.

Stephen won race two, started from an inverted grid, as well, this time followed by Fourie and Rowe. In the process, Stephen took the overall championship lead.

A raft of incidents led to the retirements of Simon Moss, Robert Wolk, Michael van Rooyen, Mathew Hodges and Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo Mini JCW), while Bonafede’s BMW ran out of steam and stopped on the final lap.

Devin Robertson (Payen Polo) dominated Saturday’s Engen Volkswagen Challenge races at Zwartkops

Keagan Masters (VW Motorsport Golf GTI) took the opening GTC2 race, leading home Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo Mini JCW), Christopher Shorter (Champion Mini JCW), Trevor Bland (TB Golf GTI), Charl Smalberger (IndyOil Golf GTI) and Iain Stevenson (Comsol Golf GTI).

Masters repeated the victory in race two, chased to the finish by Smalberger, Mandla Mdakane (VW Motorsport Golf GTI), Shorter, Bland and Dayne Angel (Autohaus Angel Honda Civic).

Devin Robertson (Payen Polo) won all three the Engen Volkswagen Cup heats, extending his already formidable 2017 championship lead.

In race one he was followed by Clinton Bezuidenhout (Glyco Polo) and Juan Gerber (Glassfit Polo).

Race two saw Bezuidenhout in second place again, followed by Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Polo).

Gerber and Kruger filled out the race three podium.      

The opening Investchem Formula 1600 race went to Julian van der Watt (RDSA Mygale), chased to the finish by Stuart White (Fantastic Ford) and Liam Pienaar (Phoenix Jewelers Mygale).

White came back in style to clinch the second race victory from Van der Watt and youngster Cameron O’Connor (Strata F1600).

Brett Garland (autObarn Honda Civic) and Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) swapped the victories in the two respective autObarn SuperHatch races, with Reno van Heerden (Hot Wheels Peugeot 206) and Karel Stols (Pretoria North Toyota RunX) taking turns in the third places, respectively.

Gavin Upton (Motion Perfection Yamaha R1) won the  race for Bridgestone Thunderbikes, followed by by Shaun Vermaak (Fourways Kawasaki) and Morne Potgieter (Fourways Flyers Kawasaki).

The first Bridgestone Challenge race went to Nicholas Gertenbach (Westside Honda CBR), ahead of Ian Thomas (SA Compressor Kawsaki) and Simon Buissinne (Kawasaki).

The next round of the 2017 Extreme Festival will be held at the Western Cape Killarney circuit on Saturday, September 9