Exciting Historic car racing at Zwartkops – Saturday 19 September

Legends of the 9 Hour

SKF Racing

Saturday, 19 September – Round 6 at Zwartkops.

Brilliant spectacle, close racing and some unexpected results typified round six of the 2015 Midas Historic Car Championship at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday (September 19).

Top billing on the programme went to the races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Production Cars. The opening races saw a massive three-car dice between Hennie Groenewald (Mercury Comet), Jonathan du Toit (Chev Nova) and Mark du Toit (Chev Camaro). Three quarter way through, Groenewald’s car slowed and stopped with fuel starvation problems, which left Jonathan du Toit to win from Mark du Toit, plus the Under two-litre class winners Alfa Romeo GT Sprint models of Clive Densham and Roy Prando.

The same problem afflicted Groenewald in race two. This time Mark du Toit grabbed victory from Jonathan du Toit, chased home by Densham and Prando, plus Thomas Falkiner (Studebaker Golden Hawke).

In both races, the midfield battle between Stuart Greig (Mini Cooper), and the Alfa Giuliettas of Larry Davies, Marc Miller and Patrick Gearing created some of the day’s top spectacle.

Colin Ellison (Scuderia Ellissoni Chevron B19) and Peter Jenkins (Nucleus Chains Chevron B19) fight during Saturday's first race for Pre-1984 Sports and GT Cars.
Colin Ellison (Scuderia Ellissoni Chevron B19) and Peter Jenkins (Nucleus Chains Chevron
B19) fight during Saturday’s first race for Pre-1984 Sports and GT Cars.
Mark du Toit (Chevrolet Camaro) and Jonathan du Toit (Chev 11 Nova) tussle during the second race for Pre-1966 Legend Production Cars
Mark du Toit (Chevrolet Camaro) and Jonathan
du Toit (Chev 11 Nova) tussle during the second race for Pre-1966 Legend Production Cars

Colin Clay (Genie Lola T70) initially led the opening race for TAR pre-1984 Sports and GT Cars, closely pursued by Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), Colin Ellison (Scuderia Ellisoni Chevron B19) and Peter Jenkins (Nucleus Chains Chevron B19). Du Toit’s Chevron clipped the rear of the Lola on the opening lap and wrecked its front suspension, putting it out for the day. Then the big Lola’s brakes overheated and the nimble Chevrons blasted past. Ellison won ahead of Jenkins, Clay, Mark du Toit (Lola T70 Spyder) and Colin Frost (Porsche 917). Ellison led the next race from starting lights to flag. Behind him, Jenkins’ car blew its engine, leaving Clay’s Lola, Du Toit’s Lola Spyder, Dino Scribante (Porsche 911 RSR) and Rui Campos (Ford GT40) to fill out the top five places.

Andrew Wilson (TVR Vixen) won both the SKF Pre-1966 Little Giants races, followed by Chad ten Doeschate (GSM Dart), Keith van Heerden (Jaguar D-Type) and Shane Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT).

Andrew Horne (Budd Power Royale) won both of the day’s Investchem Formula Ford Kent races, with Matthys Strydom (Sage FF Talon) and Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) swapping the second and third places in the two heats, respectively.

Anton Raath (Mazda R100) took both the races for Classes A – E of the Marlboro Crane Hire Pre- 1979 Saloon Cars, followed by Neil Reynecke (Chevrolet CanAm). Pierre de Waal (Alfa GT) and Gerhard Henning (Toyota Replacement VW Scirocco) took turns in the third places, respectively.

Brett Maurice (Panel Rite Ford Escort) won the opening race for Classes F – H of the Marlboro Crane Hire Pre-1979 Saloon Cars, leading home Johan Prins (Datsun) and Wayne Canciani (VW Scirocco). Daniel Lotter (Ford Zakspeed) won the second race ahead of Prins and Quentin Willis (Midas Ford Escort).

Rob Gearing (Clive Wilmot Birkin) won both the Sabat Lotus Challenge races from Jeff Gable (GAP Autoparts Birkin). Etienne Strydom (Axishouse Birkin) and Glen Clark (Clive Wilmot Birkin) took turns in the two third places, respectively.

Stuart Grant (Mercedes-Benz 280E) won the Marque Cars category overall, ahead of Kobus Brits (Porsche 911), Martin van der Merwe (MGBGT), Rob van Aarle (Ford Escort 1300) and Andrew Wilson (TVR Vixen).

The next major Historic Car meeting at Zwartkops will be the annual International Passion for Speed on January 29, 30 and 31 – 2016.

Story courtesy of Andre De Kock – The Citizen.

Pictures courtesy of RacePics.co.za.

1958 / 1974 The Great Years of South African Motor Racing.

Pre-1966 Legends of the 9 Hour Production Cars
Pre-1966/68 Le Mans Sports & GT
Pre-1974 International Sports Prototypes
Pre-1966/68 Little Giants Production Sports & GT Cars
Pre-1966 under 2 litre Production Cars
Pre-1971 Campion of Champions Production Cars

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this...
Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on StumbleUponDigg thisShare on Reddit